Adopt-A-Spoil Island

The Adopt-A-Spoil Island project gives groups in the community the ability to initiate and maintain projects on an island of their choice. The base requirement of adopting an island is for the group to conduct four cleanups per year. A Cleanup Report form must be filled out for each cleanup event and returned to the DEP Indian River Lagoon Aquatic Preserves Field Office address listed on the form. Groups are encouraged to look into additional projects that may interest them and benefit the island, although any work outside the scope of cleanups must first be cleared with IRLAP staff. For example, we have had Native Plant Societies  plant a wildflower garden, Boy Scout Troops build picnic tables for a campsite, and school groups conduct various environmental research projects on islands.

If you are interested in adopting an island you can view the Adopt-A-Spoil Island Marine Debris/Litter Removal Agreement or contact the IRLAP Field Office at (321) 953-5008 or IRLAP@dep.state.fl.us for more information.

Islands Available for Adoption

Brevard County Indian River Saint Lucie County

 –
 –  –


 Thanks to our Island Adopters!

Indian River Lagoon Aquatic Preserves staff rely heavily on the community to accomplish its goals. At the forefront of the Spoil Island Project Workgroup are our adopters who maintain, monitor, and protect the spoil islands of the Indian River Lagoon. Thanks to our island adopters for their dedication and hard work!

Island Organization Contact Email
Honeymoon West Lady Anglers of Brevard Marlo Davis Brevladyanglers@aol.com
BC-36 Treasure Coast Sothebys William Taylor wtaylor@tcsir.com
BC-37 Treasure Coast Sothebys William Taylor wtaylor@tcsir.com
BC-38 Malabar Mariners Association cordier@bellsouth.net
BC-40 Endless Windz Mike and Michele Brad endlesswindz@gmail.com
BC-44A Goon Squad Anglers Daniel Chaparro goonsquadanglers@gmail.com
BC-44B Goon Squad Anglers Daniel Chaparro goonsquadanglers@gmail.com
BC-45 Grant Station Volunteers Chris Pozgar chrispozgar351@msn.com
BC-46 Robert and Cheryl Bucholtz Robert Bucholtz rdbsx2@gmail.com
BC-47 Florida Institute of Technology/ Dept of Marine and Environmnetal Systems Kelli Zargiel kzargiel@my.fit.edu
BC-48 FIT Alpha Tau Omega Kappa Eta Tyler Hackett thackett2012@my.fit.edu
BC-50 Women of Wellness Theresa Christian theresa.christian@goodearthstewards.com
IR-1 City of Sebatian Natural Resources Board Robin Graves mugwort2u@yahoo.com
IR-2 The Adventure Club Capt Gil Gordian chooboo1727@att.net
IR-9A Women of Wellness Theresa Christian growinghealthlykidsnow@gmail.com
IR-9B The Adventure Club Capt Gil Gordian chooboo1727@att.net
IR-10 Designer Concrete John Cowger john@dccfy.com
IR-11 The Adventure Club Capt Gil Gordian chooboo1727@att.net
IR-12 Sebastian Sail & Power Squadron P/Lt/C Richard Allen rdallensr@gmail.com
IR-13 Sebastian Sail & Power Squadron P/Lt/C Richard Allen rdallensr@gmail.com
IR-25A UBS Financial Services Rusty Cappelen russell.cappelen@ubs.com
IR25 (North) Grand Harbor Chris Cleary ccleary@grandharbor.com
IR36 Epic Sessions Kat Kruse Katkrusehair@gmail.com
IR42 Vero Rotary Club Terry Rauth trauth760@gmail.com
IR43 Appel Roof Cleaning Ezra Appel ezraappel@gmail.com
SL2 Friends of Harbor Branch Cindy Wilson cwillso1@fau.edu
SL3 The Moorings Yacht Club Fransico San Miguel sanmiguelfrancisco@me.com
SL6 Marine Cleanup Initiative Capt Don Voss captain-don@comcast.net
SL7 Lincoln Park Academy Laura Lyshon laura.lyshon@stlucieschools.org
SL13 Motorized Kayak Adventures Billy Gibson jburke631@gmail.com